Testimonials

Marla Briggs, Berne

Review Type: Angie's List
Review Date: 2014-05-05
Work Done: 2014-01-24
Salesman: Kevin Gutman
Service: Windows / Doors, Kitchens


Great! The main contact, Kevin Gutman, was very professional and available.  Whenever I called Kevin with a question, he called back promptly.  The supply companies he worked with were also very professional.  We had no idea how to design a kitchen but Bennett helped us with all the decisions from appliances to countertops to plumbing.  Their workers were punctual and kept everything clean.  They also worked hard to make sure that everything worked the way it was supposed to and, even after the job was finished, came back the same day I called to fix a minor problem with the sink.  Because the work was over Christmas, we didn’t get to make our usual Christmas cookies, so Dean, one of their carpenters, brought us a big tin of cookies that he made!  The window job was exactly the same.  Very nice workers who were punctual and made sure that every window worked well.  Very positive experience!

Patricia Clement, Delmar

Review Type: Angie's List
Review Date: 2014-04-17
Work Done: 2014-01-10
Salesman: Steve Shanholtz
Service: Kitchens


Bennett Contracting gutted our kitchen which included taking down a wall between the kitchen and dining room, pulling up linoleum floor, carpet, and hardwood flooring and moving windows along the back of the house They scraped off 3 rooms worth of popcorn on the ceiling and smoothed out the entire ceiling, installing can lights. They installed cabinets according to our layout, sub-floor and new tile floor, replicated and continued crown molding throughout the new layout. They installed pendent and under cabinet lighting and all the finishing touches we agreed upon. It took a couple of weeks longer than planned due to a change in our plans about flooring but they arrived daily and worked all day, leaving the workplace neat at the end of the day. The carpenter talked to us about the work and offered suggestions but always left the decisions to us. We were very pleased with the outcome and love the new kitchen. Our calls to the project manager were always returned the same day and our questions answered.

James Peattie, Delmar

Review Type: Angie's List
Review Date: 2014-01-22
Work Done: 2013-11-01
Salesman: Kevin Gutman
Service: Windows / Doors


After quotes from several contractors we decided to hire Bennett to replace several double hung windows in our home. Although they were not the cheapest, the price was fair and the appraiser, Kevin, eased my concerns about preventing any lead/lead dust contamination as the home is old and we have a young child.  The 2 men, Jim and Carl, came on time and completed the work ahead of schedule and did a great job.  They even put a vent in and charged me nothing extra. We are very happy with the work and would hire them again. After the work we had the house inspected for lead dust by the department of health and they verified there was no contamination.

Nicholas Szeremeta, Watervliet

Review Type: Angie's List
Review Date: 2013-12-30
Work Done: 2013-12-17
Salesman: George Griffin
Service: Bathrooms


Bennett completely gutted the bathroom. They installed new ceiling, walls, floor, tub/shower, vanity, sink, toilet, door, lighting fixture. Did all Plumbing, electrical and tiling. We have used Bennett Contracting previously to remodel the kitchen. The same installers were assigned to do our bathroom. It was a 3 week project and the work progressed as scheduled each day. Bennett Contractors has been a professional and reliable company to work with.

Elise Russo, Schenectady

Review Type: Angie's List
Review Date: 2013-11-25
Work Done: 2013-10-01
Salesman: George Griffin
Service: Windows / Doors, Siding, Porches / Decks / Seasonal Rooms


From the first visit, we wanted this group. We hoped other estimates would come in higher so we would not be faced with a tough decision. We were not since Bennett’s estimate was far lower than a company we had used before. Measurements (windows and siding) were taken to help with accurate estimate and re-taken even more precisely once the contract was agreed. When the materials were ready (about three-four weeks) work began. The crew was outstanding, especially Chris the manager. All were friendly and knowledgeable but, beyond that, totally professional in everything they did, an so hard working. They seldom stopped for a moment (did they even eat lunch??) Each day everyone arrived on time (Jared was 30 minutes early every day!) Materials were kept under control throughout the working day, cleaned and stored every evening. All questions were answered completely and in a very understandable way.
When some old siding was removed it was revealed that there was a substantially dangerous situation with our electric wiring (due to another repair after a storm). The situation was explained very carefully to me, but the wheels for a safe and timely correction of the problem were already in motion by that time. Even the glitches seemed to run like clockwork with these people! When I showed some frustration at the way earlier repair (NOT by Bennett) must have been done, Chris explained why the other carpenter might have done it that way. Who knows, but I was impressed with his professionalism when he could have just as easily complained about the other guy. “Professionalism” was the name of the game with this crew.
The house looks great. The windows work so well. The iron railing (an after thought on our part, but easily managed by Bennett, and cheaper than another estimate with lesser quality materials) finishes the whole project. Our only regret, was that we had not called them earlier for other work. We will definitely use this company again!

1 2 3 11